Chicken Enchiladas Kj style!

You can say my Aunt May is my inspiration for this recipe, I LOVE my Aunt May’s Chicken Enchiladas!  While she was here for my wedding she made a couple batches and boy were they delicious! 

I have been working on my own recipe for them and spicing them up a bit…. [per preference] and this is what I came up with; Although this is NOT my Aunt May’s recipe, I think it is similar, and I changed some things 🙂 So now I guess it is my own recipe!

[this recipe makes plenty, enough for about 8 enchiladas and some filling left to freeze for a random dinner night, which is exactly what I did!]

My twist on the recipe is cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom, ground red chile peppers and the chili powder- this spiced it up just enough for us and we loved it!

  • 3 chicken breasts, thawed
  • 2 cans of cream of chicken soup
  • small container of sour cream [like the smallest you can buy!]
  • 2 cans of diced green chilies
  • random amount of ground red chile peppers
  • dash or two of chili powder
  • salt
  • pepper
  • cheese [Colby or Cheddar] however much you prefer.
  • big tortillas [burrito size]

Cook the chicken breasts in a skillet and then cut into tiny pieces, or shred.  Which ever you prefer!

Next, in a large mixing bowl, mix all of the other ingredients except the tortillas 🙂

Once the chicken is cooked, add it in to the other ingredients that you just mixed together and stir.  Then add in some cheese [however much you prefer]

Image

Warm the tortillas one by one, in the microwave for 10-12 seconds, take out and fill with two and a half big scoops of mixture.

Fold in tortilla like a buritto, place in a baking pan.  After the baking pan is filled- sprinkle cheese on top.

Image

Bake in the oven at about 365 for 25-30 minutes and they should be good to go!!

Image

These are delicious and have just enough kick to them!  Hope you enjoy my family recipe that I’ve revamped a little! Love ya Aunt May!!

Love,

Mrs. Loftus

Leave a Reply

